It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 7:08 pm

Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Smart 
Pokemon Ranger
Pokemon Ranger

I've been going to a grammar school, one of the top twenty schools in the country, for the past four years. My whole life, I've been deemed as a 'smart' person, because I am good at algebra and wear glasses. There are people who can't add numbers, or spell, or anything.

But I just don't think you can measure someone based on how well they can add or spell or whatever. People are all smart in different ways, and I don't get why we have to distinguish between people, always aim for top marks, etc.

Its peoples opinions that make a person a person.

Discuss.

Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:23 pm
THE POWER IS ON!

I know exactly what you mean. In high school, I was a high honor roll student and graduated fifth in my class. In college, I maintained a 4.0 for four years and was only one out of two people in the graduating class who had a 4.0. But how do I react when people insist that I'm smart? I disagree. Intelligence is way more than being able to memorize things and regurgitate them on a test. Right now, my biggest fear is being unable to translate my success in high school and college into a career. Comparatively, people who did "worse" than me in school will be able to do better than me in life because they've achieved a maturity that I haven't. That's intelligence just as much as my ability to get 100s on tests.